Skocz do zawartości
"Idzie nowe..." - o zmianach i nie tylko ×
Przeniesienie zakupów z IPS Marketplace / Moving bought items from IPS Marketplace ×

[resources.invisionpower.com - pliki] Developer Articles > Migrating to UTF-8

Rekomendowane odpowiedzi

• Manager

Right from the outset, I want to make it clear that I make no warranty or promises for the information in this post. I'm not an expert. It is merely an outline of the steps I have made to bring my server and IPB installation up to UTF-8 spec in the hope some other IPS customers will find it useful.

Note also that this does *NOT* provide instructions to convert existing data in posts to UTF-8, however, any latin1 data already in your forum should work fine after making the changes listed below. I have not converted my existing data because I'm not too concerned that some old posts might have some scrambled foreign text, as long as the vast majority of latin1 still displays OK (as it does)... Conversion of existing data is a huge and dangerous task that most people won't need to do anyway, unless their primary board language is in a complex Asian script, like Japanese for example.

About my decision to make the change:

I'm am an IPB customer since the 2.0 days and my board was still in latin1. My board is primarily English language but it is based in Singapore and often addresses language queries from members, which are invariably in complex Asian scrips, primarily Thai, Japanese and Chinese, so I decided to make the switch to UTF-8 in order to guarantee everything functions correctly and future proof the database. Collation data was also missing from my database. More on that later...